Fruitful Friday with Four Seasons Viognier Wine

It wasn’t Valentine’s Day. It wasn’t Pay Day. It wasn’t my birthday. It wasn’t any friend’s birthday either. It was my weekly off. If you work in my team, then you know that is a jubilant day as any to pamper yourself silly. The world might be slogging away in cubicles. But not you! You are on your own, unwinding and taking it easy. My style of unwinding is always associated with a good read and comfort food. Or anything that makes for a great nibble.

lindt raisins and nuts

lindt raisins and nuts

Lindt Orange

Lindt Orange

It was a bright Friday morning last week that simply heralded all things luxurious. After a pretty fun workout at my Fitness Center (although it was not vigorous enough considering all the indulgence I was going to get into over the weekend). I had picked up Lindt chocolates on my last visit to Forum (I love that chocolate store) and a lovely bottle of Four Season Viognier lay waiting for me at home. The time to unwind begins! Of course, all senses must be involved; a long shower with aromatic shower gels, slipping into a comphy number, drawing the curtains just so that a stream of light enters the room and then settling among my pile of pillows and cushions, but first, I went on a quest for the right book to read. Finally, I settled with a good copy of PG Wodehouse to keep me company.

A perfect pairing! Sonnets by Shakespeare, Poems by Khalil Gibran

A perfect pairing! Sonnets by Shakespeare, Poems by Khalil Gibran

Picture Perfect ;)

Picture Perfect ๐Ÿ˜‰

And a dash of PG Wodehouse, Agatha Christine perhaps? Or chick-lit? ;)

And a dash of PG Wodehouse, Agatha Christine perhaps? Or chick-lit? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Could a flute of the lovely Viognier be far away when such indulgence is at bay? A slightly chilled glass accompanied by a select pieces of Lindt Orange and Raisins and Nuts (lest I be too tempted) and I settled down to read. This was the first time I was trying out this combination, and can you believe it, it forced me to put my book down! (A very hard thing to do!). The wine in itself was divine, with just a hint of the subtle flavours of peaches, apricots, apples and a light spiceness too. Oh and the golden color! But what marveled me the most was the fact that this was wine made from a rather rare white grape, called the Viognier (vi-oh-knee-ay, a Frenchman would have a fit if you pronounced it in any other way!). It felt rather well-rounded too, the acidity being pleasant and ending with a lingering finish. I was hooked! The delightful match made in heaven, of wine and chocolates was another experience fit for the Gods! Or lazy weekenders, whichever works ๐Ÿ˜‰

They say the darker the wine, you need to pair with a darker chocolate. But for white wines, a nutty and fruit chocolate works well, as long as the wine is sweeter than the chocolate. The Orange in the Lindt was very well set off with the slight citrus tastes in the wine. It was a perfect accompaniment to the wine considering that the recommended pairing of this young dry white wine is with ย food that โ€œsuggests sweetness but are not really sweet,โ€. A sprouts white sauce pasta would then be ideal pairing, considering I am a vegetarian, but this wine is highly recommended with Indian cuisine. However, I’ll save that for another day when I have company whom I’d like to share the wine with! Until then its me, and this wonderful, very expressive wine and this divine chocolate. Pages of the book all but smudged with chocolate if not forgotten!

I found a wonderful book in my bookshelf, (the fact that there are so many unread titles that I yet have to explore from my father and sister’s collection, it never ceases to amaze me). A detailed exploration of the same would be in order.

DSC02633

A Reader's Digest Collectible - Foods that harm, Foods that heal

A Reader’s Digest Collectible – Foods that harm, Foods that heal

A friend of mine mentioned the vast array of wines created by Four Seasons and my my, donโ€™t they look breath taking together?

Four Seasons!

Four Seasons!

To explore any other wine while this excellent bottle lays before me, would be blasphemous. Viognier is indeed a lush, fragrant wine that has captivated my senses; that of taste, smell and sight! A bottle that I would take my own sweet time to savour!

I am taking my tastebuds on an exploration trail on the Four Seasons Wine Tour, the first chance I get!

www.fourseasonsvineyards.com
https://www.facebook.com/FourSeasonsWines

4 thoughts on “Fruitful Friday with Four Seasons Viognier Wine

  1. The pictures came out really nice!!! What camera did you use? You phone or your digital… the background selection is pretty creative, although could have avoided few flaws here and there… but overall, good pictures… keep clicking with your lovely blog… best !!!

    • Thank you AJ! Means a lot, coming from you! ๐Ÿ˜€ I used my Sony HXV10 camera to take those photos. Will be bothering you ever so often to offer critique on my clicks ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks again!

Leave a comment